Israel issues administrative detention orders to 15 Palestinian prisoners


RAMALLAH (Ma’an) — Israeli authorities issued administrative detention orders on Nov. 9 and 10 against 15 Palestinians for periods between two and six months.Mahmoud al-Halabi, lawyer for the Palestinian Prisoner’s Society (PPS), said on Sunday that seven new orders were issued, while eight were orders to extend administrative detention sentences for Palestinians already held by Israel with charges or trial.Israel’s policy of administrative detention — internment without charge or trial for three to six-month renewable intervals based on undisclosed evidence — has been widely condemned by the international community.

Although Israeli authorities claim the withholding of evidence during administrative detention is essential for state security concerns, rights groups have claimed that the policy allows Israeli authorities to hold Palestinians for an indefinite period of time without showing any evidence that could justify their detentions.
Rights groups have charged Israel with using its policy of administrative detention, which is almost exclusively used against Palestinians, as a way of eroding Palestinian democracy and family life, while enabling Israeli authorities to detain Palestinian activists and public figures for extended periods of time without evidence of any wrongdoing.
As of August, Palestinian prisoners’ rights group Addameer reported that 7,000 Palestinians were held in Israeli prisons, 700 of whom were being held in administrative detention.
The orders were as follows:1. Mufti Maruf Amr from the Bethlehem district, five-month extension
2. Malik Ibrahim Hamid from the Ramallah district, four months
3. Yakub Imad Turki from the Hebron district, six-month extension
4. Muhammad Mustafa al-Najjar from the Bethlehem district, four-month extension
5. Ahmad Abd al-Jalil Shahatit from the Hebron district, four months
6. Ashraf Zaydan al-Jada from the Hebron district, four months
7. Fahmi Hassan Zuhur from the Ramallah district, six months
8. Muhammad Muiz Abu Aisheh from the Ramallah district, two-month extension
9. Muhammad Yousif al-Darabi from the Hebron district, six months
10. Tariq Aqil Rabi from the Ramallah district, four-month extension
11. Musab Sadi Sakhil from the Nablus district, four months
12. Bahaa Taha al-Najjar from the Hebron district, six-month extension
13. Yousif Ahmad Nassar from the Hebron district, six months
14. Ahmad Salman Amran from the Hebron district, six months
15. Luay Muhammad Daoud from the Qalqiliya district, four-month extension.
(Source / 13.11.2016)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s